Shrine von Muraina Oyelami
Shrine by Muraina Oyelami, late 1970s or 1980/81 Iwalewahaus Collection

African Art History and the Formation of a Modern Aesthetic

African Modernism in institutional art collections related to German collecting activities

The time of change, which, especially after independence, left its mark on the African continent within the context of modernization and globalization, is accompanied of a modernity in the arts in the period between the 1930s and the 1980s. It was the time when a development of new artistic expressions took place, reflecting on this change.

Large art exhibitions and biennials such as documenta11 and the Biennial of Venice particularly drew international attention to modern and contemporary African art. A comprehensive examination of the African modernity as a postcolonial modernity, which includes historical, personal and aesthetic encounters with Europe, is still missing.

The growing presence of modern and contemporary African art in Germany yet requires a detailed research on the African modernism in German collections. The aim is to gain a better understanding of the present and the future of art from an African and Western perspective.

This is the reason why the following institutions - Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth, Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt and Makerere Art Gallery / Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration in Kampala - got together in this research project to examine the African modernity within a trans- and interdisciplinary frame, starting with their art collections. Marked by the collectors Ulli Beier and Jochen Schneider, the main focus of the collections at Iwalewahaus and the Weltkulturen Museum is on artworks from Nigeria and Uganda respectively. Because of their parallelisms, the individual (hi)stories and contents of the three collections are suitable as objects of research. In addition, their complex connections have to be part of the investigation.

Central questions are how to deal with African modernism and how a critical survey of German collections of modern African art can be possible. Instead of highlighting the biographies of the artists, patrons and collectors, a visual approach from a pictorial perspective will be applied to ascribe the artworks more autonomy. As the object of research, selected objects of the collections will enrich the scientific study of the aesthetics of artistic practice on the African continent. In the course of this extensive contextualization the centre of the discussion about African art should move into the global south. The four-year cooperation is supported by experts from Germany, Uganda, Kenya, Nigeria, Great Britain and the US.

During and after an intense examination of the collections, workshops regarding the themes "Writing art history and the definition of the canon", "The policies and politics of acquisition", "Collections of African Modernism related to German/Ugandan/Nigerian art history", "Entangled histories of art collecting", and "Aesthetics of African Modernism" shall expand the well-founded exchange. The scientific findings shall be made accessible to an interested public through the participation at conferences (CAA, ECAS, ACASA) and a row of publications as well as at least one exhibition. This way the (hi)story of the collections should be reconstructed.

The international research team, which is accompanied by guest researchers and associated advisors, is composed of young and experienced professionals in art history, visual studies, curatorial studies, museology, archival studies and anthropology as well as artists.

The project is sponsored within the program "Forschung in Museen" (research in museums) by VolkswagenStiftung.

Project term: 2015 - 2018

Contakt:
Nadine Siegert, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth
nadine.siegert@uni-bayreuth.de, 0921-554503

Research team: 

Management: Nadine Siegert, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth

Katharina Greven, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth; George Kyeyune, Makerere Art Gallery / Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration; Kathrin Peters-Klaphake, Makerere Art Gallery / Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration; Yvette Mutumba, Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt am Main; Smooth Nwezi-Ugochukwu, Hood Museum, Dartmouth College, Hanover (associated researcher).

Junior Researchers:
Lena Naumann, Hasifah Mukyala, Siegrun Salmanian

 -

Supporting program

Lecture Series African Modernisms

The lecture series is organized in cooperation with the work group Aesthetics of the Bayreuth International Graduate School of Advanced African Studies and co-curated by Ugochukwu-Smooth C. Nzewi (Hood Museum of Art, Darthmouth College).

International scholars and experts in the field of African art give public presentations to enrich the theoretical input for the research of African Modernism and a close reading of the Iwalewahaus collection of modern and contemporary art.

Elsbeth Court (SOAS, London), with her presentation "Looking Back with Jak", situated works by Jak Katarikawe within the East African art history. Within this context, she also linked his works in the Iwalewahaus collection with statements of the artists.

Atta Kwami (artist) followed the development of modernisms in Kumasi, Ghana in his presentation entitled "Making modernism in Kumasi and its aftermath". For a closer examination he engaged with the artists El Anatsui, George Afedzi Hughes, Kwame Akoto (Almighty God Artworks), Alex Amofa, Owusu Ankomah and Ibrahim Mahama.

Salah Hassan (Cornell University, Ithaca) puts his focus of his lecture "Khartoum Modern" on the years between the 1960s and the 1970s as they reflect modernist developments in Sudan's art scene. The main emphasis of the presentation is on the Khartoum School and its artists like Ibrahim el Salahi and Ahmed Shibrain, whose works are also part of the Iwalewahaus collection. (Date: 08.06.2016)

Sarah Van Beurden (Ohio State University) engages with modernism in Zaire between the 1960s and 1970s. The impact of the cultural politics of authenticité will be considered in her lecture "Mobutist Modernism: Art and the Construction of Zairian Cultural Authenticity". (Date: 22.06.2016)

Smooth-Nzewi Ugochukwu (Hood Museum, Hanover) reflects in his presentation "Nigerian Modernism in the 1980s" on African art during the specific period of the 1980s. With a focus on Nigerian modernism defined by Structural Adjustment, the postcolonial time of transition in the field of culture and arts become visible. (Date: 14.07.2016)

-

News

Public Symposium (Hi)Stories of Exhibition Making / 1960-1990

within Kampala Biennale

04.09.2016, National Museum, Kampala

Program for download as PDF

Elsbeth Court: "Looking Back with Jak: His Career in the Context of Modern Art in East Africa", 20.05.2015

Atta Kwami: "Making Modernism in Kumasi and its Aftermath", 20.06.2015

Shrine von Muraina Oyelami

Shrine von Muraina Oyelami, späte 1970er bzw. 1980/81
Sammlung Iwalewahaus

Afrikanische Kunstgeschichte und die Formierung einer modernen Ästhetik

Afrikanische Moderne in institutionellen Kunstsammlungen Deutschlands

Die Aufbruchsstimmung, die den afrikanischen Kontinent im Kontext von Modernisierung und Globalisierung insbesondere nach der Unabhängigkeit prägt, wird auch von einer künstlerischen Moderne in den 1930ern bis 1980er Jahren begleitet. In dieser Zeit fand eine Entwicklung neuer künstlerischer Ausdrucksformen statt, welche diesen Wandel reflektiert.

Besonders durch große Kunstausstellungen und Biennalen wie die documenta11 und die Venedig Biennalen erfuhr die moderne und zeitgenössische afrikanische Kunst internationale Aufmerksamkeit. Eine ausführliche Betrachtung der afrikanischen Moderne als eine postkoloniale Moderne, die historische, persönliche und ästhetische Begegnungen mit Europa einschließt, blieb bisher aus. Die zunehmende Präsenz moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst Afrikas in Deutschland erfordert jedoch eine detaillierte Untersuchung auch der afrikanischen Moderne in deutschen Sammlungen, die einem besseren Verständnis der Gegenwart und Zukunft von Kunst aus afrikanischer und westlicher Perspektive dienen soll.

Aus diesem Grund finden sich die Institutionen Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth, Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt und Makerere Art Gallery / Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration in Kampala in einem Forschungsprojekt zusammen, um anhand ihrer Kunstsammlungen die afrikanische Moderne n einem trans- und interdisziplinären Rahmen gemeinsam zu untersuchen. Geprägt von den Sammlern Ulli Beier und Jochen Schneider liegen die Schwerpunkte der Sammlungen im Iwalewahaus und im Museum der Weltkulturen auf Kunstwerken aus Nigeria beziehungsweise Uganda. Die jeweils individuellen Geschichten und Inhalte der betreffenden Sammlungen eignen sich durch ihre Parallelitäten als Forschungsgegenstand, deren komplexe Verbindungen ebenfalls untersucht werden sollen.

Zentrale Fragen zum Umgang mit der afrikanischen Moderne drehen sich darum, wie eine kritische Befragung deutscher Sammlungen moderner Kunst aus Afrika möglich ist. Statt die Biographien der Künstler_innen, Patron_innen und Sammler_innen in den Vordergrund zu stellen, wird von einem visuellen und bildwissenschaftlichen Ansatz ausgegangen, der den Kunstwerken eine stärkere Autonomie zuschreibt. Ausgewählte Objekte der Sammlungen werden als Forschungsgegenstand die wissenschaftliche Studie zur Ästhetik künstlerischer Praxis auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent bereichern. Im Zuge dieser breitgefächerten Kontextualisierung soll der Mittelpunkt der Diskussion über afrikanische Kunst in den globalen Süden verschoben werden. Die vierjährige Zusammenarbeit wird von Experten aus Deutschland, Uganda, Kenia, Nigeria, Großbritannien und den USA unterstützt.

Während und nach der intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit den Sammlungen werden Workshops zu den  Themen "Writing art history and the definition of the canon", "The policies and politics of acquisition", "Collections of African Modernism related to German/Ugandan/Nigerian art history", "Entangled histories of art collecting" und "Aesthetics of African Modernism" den fundierten Austausch erweitern. Die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse sollen möglichst vielen Interessierten über die Teilnahme an Konferenzen (CAA, ECAS, ACASA) und eine Reihe von Publikationen sowie mindestens einer Ausstellung zugänglich gemacht werden. Auf diese Weise soll die Geschichte der Sammlungen rekonstruiert werden.

Das internationale Forschungsteam, das von Gastwissenschaftler_innen und assoziierten Berater_innen begleitet wird, setzt sich aus jungen und erfahrenen Fachleuten der Kunstgeschichte, Kunstwissenschaft, Kurationswissenschaft, Museologie, Archivstudien und Anthropologie sowie Kunstschaffenden zusammen.

Das Projekt ist gefördert im Programm „Forschung in Museen“ der VolkswagenStiftung.

Projektlaufzeit: 2015 - 2018

Kontakt:
Nadine Siegert, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth
nadine.siegert@uni-bayreuth.de, 0921-554503

Forschungsteam   

Leitung: Nadine Siegert, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth

Katharina Greven, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth; George Kyeyune, Makerere Art Gallery / Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration; Kathrin Peters-Klaphake, Makerere Art Gallery / Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration; Yvette Mutumba, Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt am Main; Smooth Nwezi-Ugochukwu, Hood Museum, Dartmouth College, Hanover (assoziierter Forscher).

Nachwuchsforscher_innen:
Lena Naumann, Hasifah Mukyala, Siegrun Salmanian

-

Rahmenprogramm

Vortragsreihe African Modernism

Die Vortragsreihe ist organisiert in Kooperation mit der Arbeitsgruppe Aesthetics der Bayreuth International Graduate School of Advanced African Studies und ko-kuratiert von Ugochukwu-Smooth C. Nzewi (Hood Museum of Art, Darthmouth College).

Internationale Wissenschaftler und Experten im Bereich der afrikanischen Kunst halten öffentliche Präsentationen um den theoretischen Beitrag für die Forschung von afrikanischer Moderne zu erweitern und setzen sich intensiv mit moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst der Sammlung des Iwalewahaus auseinander.

Elsbeth Court (SOAS, London) positionierte mit ihrer Präsentation "Looking Back with Jak" Werke von Jak Katarikawe in der ostafrikanischen Kunstgeschichte und verknüpfte in diesem Kontext seine Werke aus der Sammlung des Iwalewahaus mit der Stellungnahme des Künstlers.  

Atta Kwami (Künstler) verfolgte mit der Betrachtung der Künstler El Anatsui, George Afedzi Hughes, Kwame Akoto (Almighty God Artworks), Alex Amofa, Owusu Ankomah und Ibrahim Mahama die Entwicklung von Modernismen in Kumasi, Ghana unter dem Titel "Making modernism in Kumasi and its aftermath".

Salah Hassan (Cornell University, Ithaca) legt mit "Khartoum Modern" den Fokus seines Vortrags auf die 1960-1970er Jahre, die modernistische Entwicklungen in der Kunstszene im Sudan aufzeigen. Die Khartoum School und ihre Künstler wie Ibrahim el Salahi und Ahmed Shibrain, deren Werke auch Teil der Sammlung des Iwalewahaus sind, werden präsentiert. (11.06.2016.)

Sarah Van Beurden (Ohio State University) setzt sich mit Modernismus im Zaire der 1960er bis zu den 1970er Jahren auseinander. Die Auswirkungen der Kulturpolitik im Sinne der authenticité werden in ihrem Vortrag "Mobutist Modernism: Art and the Construction of Zairian Cultural Authenticity" berücksichtigt. (22.06.2016)

Smooth-Nzewi Ugochukwu (Hood Museum, Hanover) konzentriert sich mit "Nigerian Modernism in the 1980s" auf die Kunst der 1980er Jahre. Mit einem Hauptaugenmerk auf dem Modernismus in Nigeria, welche durch die Strukturanpassung geprägt ist, wird die postkoloniale Transitionszeit im Bereich von Kunst und Kultur sichtbar. (14.07.2016)

-

News

Öffentliches Symposium (Hi)Stories of Exhibition Making / 1960-1990
im Rahmen der Kampala Bienniale

04.09.2016, National Museum, Kampala

Programm zum Download als PDF

Elsbeth Court: "Looking Back with Jak: His Career in the Context of Modern Art in East Africa", 20.05.2015

Atta Kwami: "Making Modernism in Kumasi and its Aftermath", 20.06.2015

Förderer
Volkswagenstiftung_Logo
Links
Projekt-Website

Partner
logo wkm
mag-mihcr-logo