Rundgang

the-artist-cannot-eat-likes-goldendean

24.06.2021 // 19:00 Uhr

not yet: caring

cultivating acts of affection

The curatorial team of not yet: caring invites you to a visit to the exhibition.

Caring is at the core of museum work and curatorial practice. Or: it should be. Museums and their humans care for art, artists, and communities. Or: they should. At times, it is carelessness rather than care that guides quotidian practice - be it in the handling of collections, in the treatment of artists or in dealing with the communities around them. Yet, without the communities of artists, visitors, collaborators and objects that surround them, institutions are nothing. Cultural institutions have the responsibility – not the burden – to bring these people together in order to engage in consciousness-raising dialogues with themselves and each other. Counterintuitively, many institutions - such as museums and universities - stubbornly resist change toward a more just, accessible, loving world.

This space asks a simple question: Why is that so?

It hosts a simple demand: To care for one another in the most exciting ways.

It presents work and utopian thoughts by Isaiah Lopaz, The Strategic Radicals, Goldendean, Obou Gbais and you. Also, it serves as an archive, both for stories about caring and love, and for complaint.

Tonight, we wish to invite you to share stories for our „Heart:Drive“. What made the past rough months doable for you? Which acts of affection did you experience/give? Share - our circle of care is open to your stories - either told to us, sung, drawn, or written. Do share.

date
24.06.2021 // 19:00 Uhr
venue
Live in the courtyard of Iwalewahaus & online
curator
Fink, Karrfalt, Igabe, Linn
language
English
price
Free of Charge

Rundgang

the-artist-cannot-eat-likes-goldendean

24.06.2021 // 19:00 Uhr

not yet: caring

cultivating acts of affection

Das kuratorische Team von not yet: caring lädt Sie zu einem Besuch der Ausstellung ein.

Fürsorge ist der Kern der Museumsarbeit und der kuratorischen Praxis. Oder: Sie sollte es sein. Museen und ihre Menschen kümmern sich um Kunst, Künstler:innen und Gemeinschaften. Oder: sie sollten es. Manchmal ist es eher Nachlässigkeit als Fürsorge, die die alltägliche Praxis leitet - sei es im Umgang mit Sammlungen, in der Behandlung von Künstler:innen oder im Umgang mit den sie umgebenden Gemeinschaften. Doch ohne die Gemeinschaften von Künstler:innen, Besucher:innen, Mitarbeiter:innen und Objekten, die sie umgeben, sind die Institutionen nichts. Kulturelle Institutionen haben die Verantwortung - nicht die Last - diese Menschen zusammenzubringen, um einen bewusstseinsbildenden Dialog mit sich selbst und untereinander zu führen. Kontraintuitiv widersetzen sich viele Institutionen - wie Museen und Universitäten - hartnäckig dem Wandel hin zu einer gerechteren, zugänglicheren, liebevolleren Welt.

Dieser Raum stellt eine einfache Frage: Warum ist das so?

Er beherbergt eine einfache Forderung: Sich auf die spannendste Art und Weise umeinander zu kümmern.

Er präsentiert Arbeiten und utopische Gedanken von Isaiah Lopaz, The Strategic Radicals, Goldendean, Obou Gbais und Ihnen. Außerdem dient es als Archiv, sowohl für Geschichten über Fürsorge und Liebe, als auch für Beschwerden.

Heute Abend laden wir ein, Geschichten für unseren "Heart:Drive" zu teilen. Was hat die vergangenen harten Monate für Sie erträglich gemacht? Welche Taten der Zuneigung haben Sie erlebt/geschenkt? Teilen Sie - unser Kreis der Fürsorge ist offen für Ihre Geschichten - ob uns erzählt, gesungen, gezeichnet oder geschrieben. Teilen Sie.

Datum
24.06.2021 // 19:00 Uhr
Ort
Live in the courtyard of Iwalewahaus & online
Kuration
Fink, Karrfalt, Igabe, Linn
Sprache
English
Preis
kostenfrei